Author Topic: Teaching With MakeyMakey  (Read 20206 times)

sbmiller87

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
Teaching With MakeyMakey
« on: August 15, 2012, 10:36:20 PM »
Hey I'm Shaun, I'm a teacher of Science and ICT in coastal Australia, I was late to the MakeyMakey party, devastated I missed the Kickstarter pledge, but I am pre ordering my individual kit soon. As a teacher I was wondering if anybody has thought about the potential for the MakeyMakey in classrooms, is there going to be any support or education packages, class set options, etc?

Also if there are any other teachers here that plan on incorporating this little device into their curriculum I would love to share ideas and discuss how to best implement it, Science, ICT, Robotics, Mathematics, Music, whatever.

If there is somewhere else i should post this let me know. Cheers and happy making.

yanivcogan

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
Re: Teaching With MakeyMakey
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2012, 08:27:28 AM »
as for educational ideas I can have some, as a student:

also it seems to be a better fit for smaller children a room full of objects connected to a makeymakey with a software that will choose a certain sound (or word) acoording to what key is pressed could make more intuative way to learn language, for it's more similar to how one learns his first language. for example when one presses an apple the software will play a sound document "Apple". I don't know of any software that does that currntly so maybe you will have to make it yourself, or rearrange the shortcut keys in a sound library software such as itunes.