Author Topic: Naked mole rat training  (Read 18558 times)

SJester

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
Naked mole rat training
« on: June 03, 2012, 01:42:40 PM »
Why am I here?

I'm a neuroscience grad student working with naked mole rats. We currently use RFID readers to keep track of individual animals as they run through tunnels and we're working on adding optical tracking to correlate social behaviors with location and identify animals in the colony hierarchy. Great stuff, but a pain in the neck to implement. More, it's expensive and an even greater pain to reconfigure a system once it's in place.
I've been writing Arduino sketches for a bit and we were intending to move to Arduino (or Lego Mindstorms) to operate feed hoppers based on RFID tags. Lots of other stuff - we're in the first week of a five year grant.

Where does Makey Makey fit in?

As a reconfigurable and low-cost sensor system that we can deploy both as proof-of-concept for certain experiments, and possibly to entirely substitute for the proposed finicky optical tracking. Naked mole rats are nearly blind and rely on their somatosensory system to navigate and for recognition. They investigate by touch and the rooms are unlit except when we dull scientists need to see.

Core project proposal:
A metal plate on the enclosure floor is wired to ground. Target objects are wired as keys - I won't use cursor keys, probably WASD to give props to my gaming roots. Any simple keylogger will give me the time and order that the "keys" were touched by the animals. Or just plain Notepad will record the order if timing is not an issue. We don't need temporal resolution finer than tenths of a second anyhow. Probably not even that. And the optical systems are not good at spotting fine manipulation. Heh. Right now they're not very good at spotting anything FWIW. We have some poor undergrads watching the videos for behaviors. I just showed one person how to watch videos at 2X speed in VLC, saving him hours...