Author Topic: Is it a an Arduino?  (Read 26878 times)

denie

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
Is it a an Arduino?
« on: June 02, 2012, 08:04:30 PM »
Hi,

I'vd been reading a bit about the MakeyMakey, looks like a funthing!

There is some mention about it beeing an Arduino board.

I would really like to get started on it, but I expect it willl take a couple of monthe before I can get my hanhds on a board.

Inthe meanwhile, I do have a collection of Arduino boards here at hand.

My question, what does it take to turn an Arduino board into a MaKeyMakey board?

Cheers,
Denie

stevetheipad

• MaKey MaKer
  • I'm a Scratcher and programmer and a creator. :)
    • View Profile
Re: Is it a an Arduino?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2012, 08:33:03 PM »
Yes, the Kickstarter description/information includes some information about it turning into an Arduino board:
MaKey MaKey runs on top of Arduino. You can start using your MaKey MaKey board in "Arduino mode" at any time. This would allow you to spin motors, turn on LEDs, or anything else that an Arduino can do.

However, [and this is just a guess] the way the Makey Makey is set up, it looks as if it was custom made enough that it isn't easily achievable using a plain Arduino board.

Let's see what Eric and Jay say, though.

denie

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
Re: Is it an Arduino?
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2012, 09:21:40 PM »
It would be interesing to know if it is.

I have not found any source code on the MakeyMakey site.

Is it an open project or a pure commercial project? Does it abide the GPL.

There is no mention of the bootloader or anything that I could feed to any type of the chips.
Got a collecion of AtMega chips here, so I can test.

Cheers
Denie

SJester

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2012, 03:56:04 PM »