Author Topic: Does MaKey MaKey work on iPad?  (Read 22309 times)

Bananadude10

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
Does MaKey MaKey work on iPad?
« on: May 31, 2012, 10:53:38 PM »
I was just wondering if MaKey MaKey works on iPads.     :)
(If not, than I suggest you guys make it available)   ;D

lightnin

• Administrator
  • MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
Re: Does MaKey MaKey work on iPad?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2012, 11:35:45 PM »

Not yet, although there is more testing / figuring out why not  to be done. :) And we agree - it would be awesome.

stevetheipad

• MaKey MaKer
  • I'm a Scratcher and programmer and a creator. :)
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2012, 06:48:47 PM »

Not yet, although there is more testing / figuring out why not  to be done. :) And we agree - it would be awesome.
Wow, that would be amazing. I'm learning Objective C, so integrating iOS apps with the Makey Makey would be sweet. :)

notyou

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2012, 04:45:38 PM »
I have to test it (and hope it doesn't blow my new MM up), but according to these Apple forum posts, you should be able to power MM from an iPad using a non-powered USB hub and the iPad charger *OR* a powered USB hub:

https://discussions.apple.com/message/12696495#12696495
https://discussions.apple.com/message/18764459#18764459

Unfortunately it seems that battery-powered USB hubs are hard to come by, making this a less-than-portable solution.

However somebody on this Ableton forum hacked a battery-pack with 4 "C" batteries to a USB connector and got his iPad to recognize multiple powered USB devices, so that might work too.

https://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=162744

It just occurred to me that one of these USB chargers (+ non-powered hub) might do the trick too:

http://www.amazon.com/Duracell-Instant-Charger-Includes-Universal/dp/B002FU6KF2
http://www.instructables.com/id/MintyBoost!---Small-battery-powered-USB-charger/