Author Topic: EMULATOR WON'T RECOGNIZE MAKEY KEY PRESSES  (Read 3958 times)

bigbill

  • MaKey MaKer
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
EMULATOR WON'T RECOGNIZE MAKEY KEY PRESSES
« on: June 13, 2015, 06:45:09 PM »
what do i do
im trying to play mario on an emulator using makey makey but it won't recognize the key presses
« Last Edit: December 17, 2015, 07:01:20 PM by James B »

James B

  • Global Moderator
  • MaKey MaKer
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • "best played LANs of gamer dens, gang aft MaKey!"
    • View Profile
    • Knox Makers
Re: EMULATOR WON'T RECOGNIZE MAKEY KEY PRESSES
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2015, 08:31:06 PM »
bigbill,

I know that the demo freeware/shareware games that come with RetroPie's latest drop can have different keyboard controls with some games and interfaces than the main Emulation Station interface. Have you tried verifying the controls in the game act on your computer keyboard the same way you have them mapped to the MaKey MaKey?

If you are using RetroPie, you may need to configure RetroPie to recognize your MaKey MaKey as the intended joystick from the configuration menu. You may also need to individually remap and games or GUIs from within the Emulation Station menu.

If you aren't using RetroPie, what are you using?

Did remapping help?
-=-=-
"All life is an experiment, the more experiments you MaKey MaKey the better." - Ralph Waldo Emerson
-=-=-

bigbill

  • MaKey MaKer
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: EMULATOR WON'T RECOGNIZE MAKEY KEY PRESSES
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2015, 09:58:49 PM »
the game allows me to set assign the keys using the makey makey but once i'm in the game they don't work anymore lol
they will still work from the keyboard just not from makey makey

bigbill

  • MaKey MaKer
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: EMULATOR WON'T RECOGNIZE MAKEY KEY PRESSES
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2015, 10:01:04 PM »
i just have it plugged into the usb

Sreedev K

  • MaKey MaKer
  • Posts: 10
  • Tinkering Away
    • View Profile
Re: EMULATOR WON'T RECOGNIZE MAKEY KEY PRESSES
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2015, 02:33:39 AM »
Is it possible to control the game from your PC's keyboard? What keys have you set?