Author Topic: My autistic helper  (Read 7042 times)

BetoRaposa

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
My autistic helper
« on: May 30, 2012, 10:13:48 AM »
I am a programmer for something around 6 years now and my girlfriend/fiance is a renown speech therapist for autistic children here in my city. She and I were working on some projects of interfaces that can be interpreted easily by her patients with speech disorder.
Actually, we use a card book with cards relating to actions or objects that a child with autism and/or speech disorder may use to communicate their needs. As an example, a child chooses a card with a banana photo and show to a parent/therapist. It is supposed to mean that he is hungry and would like to have a banana (sometimes he just wants something to eat).
Our project is to add some simple interfaces to the cards so the children can say more with it than "I want it".
(Some pictures are to come. I don't have them right now).
« Last Edit: May 30, 2012, 11:04:25 AM by BetoRaposa »

BetoRaposa

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
My autistic helper: project pictures
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2012, 08:13:55 PM »

This is Little Felipe. He doesn't speak a single word. He gets a card with a picture of juice...

Then someone gets the juice for him.

This time Felipe gets a card with a picture with the toilet with urine to say he needs to urinate.

arivera

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
Re: My autistic helper
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2012, 04:47:45 PM »
This is really great. Have you made progress on this?

bjscharf

• MaKey MaKer
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2013, 05:09:09 PM »